HHC CME Portal:

State Requirements for Connecticut Physicians:

The 2013 session of the Connecticut General Assembly passed a bill that resulted in changes to the Continuing Medical Education (CME) requirements for Connecticut physicians. The bill was signed by Governor Malloy and went into effect on July 1, 2013.

The new CME model requires the courses to be completed every six years from the last cycle in which it was taken. So anyone who completed the mandatory subject credits in 2013 will have until 2019 to renew the mandatory topic areas. A sixth mandatory topic, Behavioral Health*, has been added. The Category 1 CME in this topic should be received within the next 24 months, and then every six years moving forward.

*specific to veterans' PTSD and suicide

CME Requirements for Relicensure in Connecticut

CME Department Guidelines for State Mandated Education

The requirements must include one hour of education in each of the following topics:

  • Infectious Disease; including HIV & AIDS
  • Risk Management; including pain management & prescribing controlled substances
  • Sexual Assault
  • Domestic Violence
  • Cultural Competency
  • Behavioral Health; including at least 2 hours in mental health conditions common to veterans & their family members

CME Best Practices

Additional information:

Continuing Medical Education Department